Cake 1.1 “RaceCake”

Well!!!!!!

Some serious progress made since last time. Got a chassis made up for the race and as promised I have a few pics. I used aluminium again as this is fairly light but strong and easy to work with. The new wheels Gian acquired took a while to get fixed to the new gearbox since the shaft was considerably smaller then the hole in the middle of the wheels but after a few hours of pulling my hair out I came up with a solution. Using a small barrel connector, I built up the size of the shaft coming from the gearbox from 2.5mm to 4mm so it matched the hole in the centre of the wheel. Then using a epoxy putty I filled in and around the shaft inside the wheel to prevent the shaft from coming loose once it was placed inside the wheel.

I used the same material as the prototype for the chassis. I cut out a piece and began marking it for the wheels and gearbox. Makes for a nice tight piece with notches cut out for the wheels to pass through.

I managed to recycle the axle from my first attempt at building this thing and it fitted in just right fir the front of the robot. Using a few spacers and more copper barrels to ensure that there is no unnecessary movement in the front axle. This part needs a little more tweaking to get it just right! Almost finished with this design, another day of tinkering about should have it perfect, maybe a paint job to compliment all the other great work being put into this. The lads and I are here now coming up with ways to mount the circuit to this bad boy before tomorrow’s class. If all goes well today it should be functional in the morning!!!!!

Hers a few more pics with all the bits assembled(no circuit yet!)

gearbox and front axle
side view blinging rims

 

Top view, managed to get a sponsor ship deal!!

One thought on “Cake 1.1 “RaceCake””

  1. Hi Paul. This is outstanding work! If only the ESB weren’t rebranding, I feel sure that they would be delighted to sponsor this handsome robot. I’m curious to know whether the fixed front axle will hinder its steering at all. However, for the race to the wall, this won’t be a problem either way. Anyway, as I said, this is first class work. I’m looking forward to seeing it moving in the morning.

Leave a comment